The Kills like it sexy. They like it dark. But imagine the surprise to critics when press copies of Midnight Boom began arriving on our desks just weeks ago containing a song called “Cheap and Cheerful,” and then imagine further if you will, that upon listening to the entire newie, realizing that yes, indeed, the Kills seem to have lightened up…but only just atmospherically. And even that might be a stretch. Sure, you can groove to Midnight Boom, but just like many New Order records, the lyrics are dark as night – and in the case of Jamie Hince and Allison Mosshart’s latest – dark as the wee small hours. Hallelujah, right? While we’re huddled in our cozy homes and apartments waiting out the coldest, bleakest days of winter, might as well have a record on that we can blissfully bob our heads to. Midnight Boom hits shelves on March 18th 2008, via Domino Records. Look for a US tour in March, details TBA soon.

Midnight Boom tracklisting after the jump.

1. U.R.A Fever
2. Cheap And Cheerful
3. Tape Song
4. Getting Down
5. Last Day Of Magic
6. Hook And Line
7. Black Balloon
8. M.E.X.I.C.O.C.U.
9. Sour Cherry
10. Alphabet Pony
11. What New York Used To Be
12. Goodnight Bad Morning