The ten finalists for the Seventh Annual Shortlist Prize were announced today, with the assumed contenders: Arcade Fire, Burial, Feist, Justice, LCD Soundsystem, M.I.A., Spoon, Stars, Wilco and Working for a Nuclear Free City. Well, Working for a Nuclear Free City and Burial might, arguably, be surprising to some out there. Right? If you don’t like the final group, you can always blame Gary Lightbody of Snow Patrol, Ronnie Vannucci of the Killers), journalist Rev. Moose (CMJ), radio DJ Chris Douridas (KCRW) and the hosts of Hunnypot Internet Radio. Arcade Fire, MIA and Wilco are all going for a repeat. Cat Power won last year for The Greatest. The winner will be announced next month.

Here is the long list that Gary Lightbody, et. al., chose from:
A Fine Frenzy – One Cell in the Sea
Against Me! – New Wave
Animal Collective – Strawberry Jam
Arcade Fire – Neon Bible
Bad Religion – New Maps of Hell
Biffy Clyro – Puzzle
Bjork – Volta
Blonde Redhead – 23
BrakesBrakesBrakes – The Beatific Visions
Burial – Untrue
Calvin Harris – I Created Disco
Dead Heart Bloom – Chelsea Diaries
Digitalism – Idealism
Dollyrots – Because I’m Awesome
Eddie Vedder – Into the Wild Soundtrack
Feist – The Reminder
Fionn Regan – The End of History
Future of the Left – Curses
Gogol Bordello – Super Taranta
Grinderman – Grinderman
Gui Boratto – Chromaphobia
Iron and Wine – The Shepherd’s Dog
Jesca Hoop – Kismet
Josh Ritter – The Historical Conquests of Josh Ritter
Juliette and the Licks – Four on the Floor
Justice – Cross
Keren Ann – Keren Ann
Kings of Leon – Because of the Times
Klaxons – Myths of the Near Future
LCD Soundsystem – Sound of Silver
Le Loup – The Throne of the Third Heaven
Les Savy Fav – Let’s Stay Friends
M.I.A. – Kala
Maps – We can Create
o’Death – Head Home
Of Montreal – Hissing Fauna, Are You the Destroyer?
Parts and Labor – Mapmaker
Peter Bjorn and John – Writers Block
PJ Harvey – White Chalk
Puscifer – V is for Vagina
Robert Francis – One by One
Robert Pollard – Standard Gargoyle Decisions
Scout Niblett – This Fool Can Die Now
Serj Tankian – Elect the Dead
Spoon – Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga
Stars – In Our Bedroom After the War
Swizz Beatz – One Man Band Man
The Bird and The Bee – The Bird and The Bee
The Hives – Black and White Album
The Thrills – Teenager
Underworld – Oblivion with Bells
Wheat – Everyday I Said a Prayer
Wilco – Sky Blue Sky
Working for a Nuclear Free City – Businessmen and Ghosts