Recent Articles

Third Man Records To Set Up Shop in NYC for Two Days

When Jack White rolls into the big city next week with the Dead Weather to headline Terminal 5, so too will a pop-up shop for his Nashville-based imprint, Third Man Records. On July 16 and 17th, a mini-store will open at 131 Chrystie Street (between Broome and Delancey) in downtown Manhattan…

8 Jul 2009 | More

Jeffrey Lewis: Art Scans

Artist/musician Jeffrey Lewis grew up just a stone’s throw from Sidewalk Café on Ave. A in NYC. He may have stuck to his downtown, indie artist roots on his band’s latest album, ‘Em Are I, but as we talked during a pit stop at the end of his most recent tour, he revealed that in this modern age of technological gadgets and au courant internet friends, it gets harder and harder to zero in on your craft. Even for a DIY, seemingly boundless artist like Lewis…

8 Jul 2009 | More

Shudder to Think to Release First Live Album in September

Beloved hardcore punk band Shudder to Think will release their first live record, Live From Home, on September 15 via Team Love. Documenting the band’s 2008 reunion tour, Live will contain recordings considered to be the best of the well-received, historic performances.

8 Jul 2009 | More

Placebo Confirm North American Tour Dates

Placebo will take a break from their extensive European tour in support of their high-charting sixth album, Battle For the Sun, to headline a North American tour starting September 12th at Portland’s Roseland Theatre. On-sale dates and other details are still to come via the band’s official website.

8 Jul 2009 | More

School of Seven Bells to Re-release Debut on Vagrant, First US Headlining Tour

Vagrant Records announced today that they are partnering with Brooklyn-based School of Seven Bells and their Ghostly International imprint to re-release the trio’s 2008 debut album, Alpinisms on July 14.

8 Jul 2009 | More

Melvins to Throw Their “Chicken Switch” in September, Tour with Down

Chicken’s having a good summer…with music legends that is. First was the new album from Chickenfoot (supergroup with Sammy Hagar and Joe Satriani), and now comes word that the Melvins will release a remix album, Chicken Switch, on September 29 via Ipecac.

8 Jul 2009 | 2 comments | More