Together, they’ve created some of the most haunting soundtracks and cinematic scores in recent memory (The Proposition), anyone? And now on September 22nd via Mute, Nick Cave and Warren Ellis will release a retrospective of sorts of their efforts called White Lunar, a two CD set comprised of their soundtrack compositions, a selection of film scores, rare and previously unreleased material. Cave and Ellis have made music together for over 15 years, most often with their bands The Bad Seeds, Grinderman and The Dirty Three.

While The Proposition might be their most notable (and beloved) soundtracking collaboration together given Cave’s dual role as screenwriter of the film, their work on The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford is arguably their most widely heard. (At least until The Road comes out.) Provided tracklisting below. (We’re assuming Jesse James can be found on CD 1, tracks 1-4.)

CD1 Tracks 5-11: from The Proposition
Soundtrack by Nick Cave & Warren Ellis.
Script by Nick Cave. Film directed by John Hillcoat.

CD1 Tracks 12-17: from The Road
Soundtrack by Nick Cave & Warren Ellis.
Directed by John Hillcoat. Based on the book by Cormac MacCarthy

CD2 Tracks 1-3, 12, 15, 16: from The Girls of Phnom Penh
A film by Matthew Watson.

CD2 Tracks 6-11: from The English Surgeon
Soundtrack by Nick Cave & Warren Ellis.
Film by Geoffrey Smith

CD2 Tracks 4-5 & 13-14: from The Vaults
These tracks are from the Cave/Ellis vaults/archives

–Carrie Alison