From the confines of their HQ “on a secret floating island deep in the South Pacific…made up of the detritus, debris and washed up remnants of humanity,” Gorillaz have come out of their high-tech cave this week for some serious air time. First was the news yesterday that the cartoon superstars backed by Damon Albarn would co-headline Coachella in April, and now, today, much to the dismay of group bassist Murdoc Niccals, the first single off of Plastic Beach, “Stylo” featuring Bobby Womack and Mos Def has leaked online, pushing up the track’s official release to January 26th.

Plastic Beach, due March 9th via Virgin Records, was self-produced and is the third full-length studio release for the 12-million selling band of studio wizard goofballs. Gorillaz’ appearance at Coachella on April 18th marks the group’s first Stateside live performance since its infamous takeover of Harlem’s historic Apollo Theater in April 2006.

Plastic Beach tracklisting:
1. Orchestral Intro (featuring Sinfonia ViVA)
2. Welcome To The World Of The Plastic Beach (feat. Snoop Dogg & Hypnotic Brass Ensemble)
3. White Flag (feat. Kano, Bashy & The National Orchestra For Arabic Music)
4. Rhinestone Eyes
5. Stylo (feat. Bobby Womack & Mos Def)
6. Superfast Jellyfish (feat. Gruff Rhys & De La Soul)
7. Empire Ants (feat. Little Dragon)
8. Glitter Freeze (feat. Mark E Smith)
9. Some Kind Of Nature (feat. Lou Reed)
10. On Melancholy Hill
11. Broken
12. Sweepstakes (feat. Mos Def & Hypnotic Brass Ensemble)
13. Plastic Beach (feat. Mick Jones & Paul Simonon)
14. To Binge (feat. Little Dragon)
15. Cloud Of Unknowing (feat. Bobby Womack and Sinfonia ViVA)
16. Pirate Jet

  1. [...] is the first Gorillaz record that captain Damon Albarn produced himself (”his proud hisself”).  It’s [...]