Hotly tipped UK singer-songwriter Laura Marling has just confirmed details of her second album, I Speak Because I Can, due April 8 via Astralwerks.

Produced by Ethan Johns, who has worked with Kings of Leon, Ryan Adams and Ray LaMontagne previously, and recorded at Peter Gabriel’s Real World Studios, I Speak Because I Can is said to be Marling’s “coming of age album” housing “ten songs imbued with a new richness, ripeness and sophistication, marked by homespun tales and sparse instrumentation.” Mumford & Sons, who are slowly growing their own sizeable fanbase, once again served as Marling’s backing band for this effort.

According to the press announcement, Marling and Johns will reteam in the coming months to work on another album’s worth of material, with a late 2010 release in mind. A brief run of North American shows have been booked for the month of February.

For more on Laura Marling, check out our 2008 interview with her right here.

Track Listing:
1. Devil’s Spoke
2. Made By Maid
3. Rambling Man
4. Blackberry stone
5. Alpha Shallows
6. Goodbye England
7. Hope In The Air
8. What He Wrote
9. Darkness Descends
10. I Speak Because I Can

2/3/10 San Diego, CA @ The Casbah
2/4/10 Los Angeles, CA @ Largo
2/5/10 Visalia, CA @ The Cellar
2/6/10 San Francisco, CA @ The Swedish US Hall
2/9/10 Toronto, ON @ Drake Hall
2/10/10 Montreal, QC @ Divan Orange
2/12/10 New York, NY @ Le Poisson Rouge
2/13/10 Norfolk, VA @ Attucks Theatre

(Photo Credit: Deirdre O’Callaghan)

  1. Well said. I never thought I would agree with this opinion, but I’m starting to see things from a different point of view. I have to research more on this as it looks very interesting. One thing I don’t understand though is how everything is related together.