Beloved Scottish post-punk quintet Mogwai have just confirmed details of their upcoming live DVD and album releases, out August 24. The live concert DVD, Burning, directed by Vincent Moon and Nathanael Le Scouarnac of the La Blogotheque’s Take-Away Shows, was filmed in April 2009 during the band’s sold-out, three-night stint at the Music Hall of Williamsburg in Brooklyn. The resulting 45-minute film, of which its directors describe as an “experience of the senses… a lifetime of feelings in just one night,” is, according to the press materials, “a modern urban noir thriller, a black-and-white journey.”

Special Moves, the accompanying 11-track album, is Mogwai’s first live release. As a gift to fans, the band is giving away a free download of “New Paths to Helicon Pt. 1” right here, along with the trailer for Burning.

Special Moves
1. I’m Jim Morrison, I’m Dead
2. Friend of the Night
3. Hunted By a Freak
4. Mogwai Fear Satan
5. Cody
6. You Don’t Know Jesus
7. I Know You Are But What Am I
8. I Love You, I’m Going to Blow Up Your School
9. 2 Rights Make 1 Wrong
10. Like Herod
11. Glasgow Megasnake

1. The Precipice
2. I’m Jim Morrison, I’m Dead
3. Hunted By a Freak
4. Like Herod
5. New Paths to Helicon Pt. 1
6. Mogwai Fear Satan
7. Scotland’s Shame
8. Batcat