On a whim in the summer of 2008, singer-songwriter Pete Yorn settled down in the studio at the behest of Frank Black (Pixies) and recorded an album in Salem, OR. The self-titled record’s sessions lasted just five days, but the ”resulting songs are raw, born of shattered nerves and shifting dreams – yet edged with hope,” according to press materials. First single “Sans Fear” finds the usually soft-voiced Yorn shifting “between soaring harmonies and ravaged lead vocals as he contemplates a relationship’s end.”

Of the unlikely collaboration, Black said, “Pete told me he wanted to better define himself as an artist.  I think he just wanted to rock out.  But as we headed down a path of realization I stripped him down a whole bunch.  We battled in the best sort of way.  I tried to get the session into a fearless and raw place, and to his artistic credit Pete took his songwriting to a fearless and raw place.  This listener will find his or herself sitting right next to Pete on the couch.  And the record totally rocks out.”

Pete Yorn will be released September 28th on Vagrant Records. Fall tour plans will be announced soon.

1. Precious Stone
2. Rock Crowd
3. Velcro Shoes
4. Paradise Cove I
5. Badman
6. The Chase
7. Sans Fear
8. Always
9. Stronger than
10. Future Life
11. Wheels