interpol2

Yesterday, Interpol released the bizarre video for “Lights,” the first single off of the group’s self-titled album due in September. Directed by Charlie White, and featuring beautiful women in strange masks and milky substances in what could double as a Nip/Tuck nightmare sequence, “Lights” marks Interpol’s grand return to Matador and proof that the post-punk New York group is back in business.

As previously reported, Dave Pajo (on bass/formerly of Slint), and Brandon Curtis (on keyboards and backing vocals/of Secret Machines fame) have joined the Interpol touring line-up in the wake of the departure of founding bassist Carlos D.

Interpol, the group’s fourth studio effort, will be released on September 7th. Full worldwide tour itinerary here.

June:
Wednesday, June 23 – Pittsburgh, PA Mr. Smalls Theatre
Friday, June 25 – Allentown, PA Crocodile Rock
Saturday, June 26 – New York, NY, Creators Project Party, Milk Studios

July:
Friday, July 23 – Northampton, MA – Pearl Street Ballroom*
Saturday, July 24 – New Haven, CT – Toad’s Place – +
Sunday, July 25 – Baltimore, MD – Ramshead Live – *
Thursday, July 29 – Richmond, VA – The National – +
Friday, July 30 – Norfolk, VA – The NorVA – +
Saturday, July 31 – Atlantic City, NJ – Showboat Atlantic City – House of Blues – #

August:
Wednesday, August 04 – Montclair, NJ – Wellmont Theatre – +
Thursday, August 05 – Boston, MA – House of Blues – +
Friday, August 06 – Clifton Park, NY – Northern Lights – #
Monday, August 09 – Montreal, QC – Metropolis – #
Tuesday, August 10 – Toronto ON – Kook Haus – @
Wednesday, August 11 – Pontiac, MI – Clutch Cargo -+
Friday, August 13 – Milwaukee, WI – The Rave – #
Saturday, August 14 – Minneapolis, MN – First Avenue – *
Sunday, August 15 – Chicago, IL – Vic Theatre – #
Wednesday, August 18 – Charleston, SC – The Music Farm – +
Thursday August 19 – Lake Buena Vista FL – House of Blues – #

@ – on sale June 23
* – on sale June 24
+ – on sale June 25
# – on sale June 26

 
  1. [...] No way. The Charlie White-directed video for the album’s first single, “Lights,” premiered last week featuring beautiful women doing strange things to each [...]