Renowned producer and gravel-voiced trip-hop pioneer Tricky is set to release his ninth studio album, Mixed Race, on October 5th via Domino Records. The album’s first single, “Murder Weapon,” a remake of Echo Minott’s dancehall classic featuring vocalist Frankey Riley, will be released sometime this fall. A sneak peak of the song can now be heard over at the Domino website.

Recorded in Tricky’s current homebase of Paris, Mixed Race is mooted to be “a lyrical journey with temptation, reflection, mischief and misbehavior,” claiming a wide range of musical influences by drawing upon UK, Jamaican, US, North African and French artists, and laid bare with album opener “Every Day.”

Of the album’s title, Tricky said in a press statement, “You sat down at the table in my house and you saw every color. It’s made me much more open-minded than I could’ve been. I come from both worlds. I’ve been blessed because no-one can put my music in a box – it’s not black, it’s not white, it’s not female, it’s not male. I’ve spent my life going between cultures; Mixed Race is about that, and in a very direct way.”

In addition to touring vocalist Riley, Tricky also welcomes Jamaican singer Terry Lynn, Primal Scream frontman Bobby Gillespie, lutist/vocalist Hakim Hamadouche, London-based vocalist Blackman and  brother Marlon Thaws to the fold on Mixed Race. U.S. live dates will be scheduled for the fall, while Tricky will perform at the following UK festivals:

Saturday, August 21st: V Festival, Hylands Park, Chelmsford (Union Arena, 7.30pm)
Sunday, August 22nd: V Festival, Weston Park, Stafford (Union Arena, 7.30pm)
Friday, September 10th: Bestival, Newport, Isle Of Wight (Big Top Stage, 10.30pm)

Mixed Race‘s tracklisting is as follows:

  1. Every Day              
  2. Kingston Logic                 
  3. Early Bird                        
  4. Ghetto Stars                   
  5. Hakim
  6. Come To Me
  7. Murder Weapon
  8. Time To Dance
  9. Really Real
  10. Bristol To London

  1. [...] Trip-hop pioneer Tricky has just confirmed a run of North American tour dates set to kick off December 9th at New York’s swanky Le Poisson Rouge in support of his upcoming Domino Records release, Mixed Race. [...]