White Lies whipped the British music press into a predictably frothy lather in 2009 with their debut To Lose My Life… It was the sort of deafening praise that landed them accolades such as MOJO’s Breakthrough Artist of 2009 and Q’s Breakthrough Artist of the Year. Though the pot was just brought to a simmer for the dark synth pop leanings of the popular London quartet in the U.S., they did manage to win over a sizeable fanbase with memorable performances at Coachella and Lollapalooza.

Now back with their sophomore effort Ritual to be released on January 18th via Geffen/Fiction, White Lies are gunning for the top spot. Produced by Alan Moulder (who needs no introduction), Ritual “teems with dark distorted anthems for the modern age,” and is a “sonic journey through dancefloor beats meets raging guitars and everything in between, fused together perfectly, and all at an incredibly melodic breakneck speed.” The album’s lead single “Bigger Than Us” will be released digitally on November 22nd.

Ritual Tracklisting:
1. Is Love?
2. Strangers
3. Streetlights
4. Bigger Than Us
5. Peace & Quiet
6. Holy Ghost
7. Turn the Bells
8. Power & The Glory
9. Bad Love
10. Come Down

  1. Catch up with White Lies bassist Charles Cave! He talks about embracing imperfections, Moscow & the band’s newest album “Ritual” with ARTISTdirect. http://bit.ly/ciY0MW


  2. [...] Revealing Ritual‘s cover art today, along with a brief run of tour dates in support of the January 18th, 2011 album release, things appear to be full steam ahead for the acclaimed group. Lead single “Bigger Than Us” [...]