Indie-folk stalwarts Bright Eyes are set to release their seventh studio album, The People’s Key, on February 15, 2011 via Saddle Creek. Recorded in the group’s homebase of Omaha, NE at ARC Studios with core members Conor Oberst, Mike Mogis and Nathaniel Walcott, the album is said to be “fully realized and bursting with charisma…artfully arranged and filled with the engaging and mesmeric songwriting for which Oberst is renowned.” Mogis produced the album and mixed it alongside Andy LeMaster of Now It’s Overhead.

As with many Bright Eyes records and the rotating cast of characters who sit in on studio sessions, The People’s Key is no different. In addition to LeMaster, the following indie all-stars appear on the record: Matt Maginn (Cursive), Carla Azar (Autolux), Clark Baechle (The Faint), Shane Aspegren (The Berg Sans Nipple), Laura Burhenn (The Mynabirds) and Denny Brewer (Refried Ice Cream).

Two high-profile live dates have just been announced in support of The People’s Key in 2011: Radio City Music Hall in New York City on March 9th and London’s Royal Albert Hall on June 23rd.  Pre-sales for both dates begin on December 1st at 12PM EST, and public on-sales will take place on December 4th at 9AM (London) and 10AM (New York).

Full track list for The People’s Key:
1 Firewall
2 Shell Games
3 Jejune Stars
4 Approximate Sunlight
5 Haile Selassie
6 A Machine Spiritual (In The People’s Key)
7 Triple Spiral
8 Beginner’s Mind
9 Ladder Song
10 One For You, One For Me

  1. [...] forthcoming winter tour as a seven-piece, in support of the group’s seventh studio album, The People’s Key, due out on February 15, 2011 via Saddle Creek. Set to kick off on March 2nd in Miami, the trek [...]