It couldn’t have happened to a better band. Brooklyn’s TV On The Radio has been nominated for a Grammy Award for “Best Long Form Video” for Nine Types of Light at the Grammy’s 54th Annual Awards. The aesthetic, visually epic counterpart to the album Nine Types of Light.

The band brought in their friends and the filmmakers they admired to help direct the music videos for the project. Tunde Adebimpe, TV’s singer, who also acts as the overall director for the full Nine Types of Light movie, strung the videos together using interviews from local New Yorkers on themes such as “dreams, love, fame and the future.”  Singer Adebimpe also directed the music video for “Forgotten.”

Directors/Videos appear in this order in the movie:

Caffeinated Consciousness – Tim Nackashi
Second Song – Michael Please
New Cannonball Blues – Maya Elderyi
No Future Shock – Jon Moritsugu and Amy Davis
Repetition – JohnErick Lawson
Will Do – Dugan O’Neal
Keep Your Heart – Petro
Forgotten – Tunde Adebimpe
Killer Crane – TV on the Radio and Dano Cerny
YOU – Barney Clay


Tunde Adebimpe, video director;

Michelle An & Caren Braj, video producers